A Heart for Art


In my family, the call to practice medicine runs thick. Never tell me what ails you, because I will cross-examine your symptoms and suggest treatments (though we all would never recommend surgery, as we’re not that shrewd in business.) The other call that runs hot and thick through our veins is art. Art is my first love.

It makes my heart pump, physically, emotionally. Art. Artists. The creativity, the talent, the passion, the individualism, the courage, the mystery, the magic, the freedom, the bleeding. As Wassily Kandinsky said,

“There is no must in art because art is free.”

You might be thinking, “Aren’t you being a tad dramatic, my blogger friend?” (Drama is my second love.) When I go to galleries with my dear friend Arthur, he pretends to avoid me, “It’s like being with Sister Wendy,” he mock-complains. Oh, that Arthur, he’s too kind, I love Sister Wendy! [http://www.pbs.org/wgbh/sisterwendy/meet/index.html]

Robert Motherwell puts it like this:

“Art is much less important than life, but what a poor life without it.”

My Motherwell print, “Elegy to the Spanish Republic LXX,” found in a bric-à-brac shop in Silver Lake, a neighborhood in Los Angeles that I used to live in.

Arthur is ribbing me because it is evident how thrilled I become, as he continues, “You lit up like a cheap Christmas Tree.” It is true. I should be placed in a shop window, multi-coloured and rotating. I am fascinated. Their works. Their lives. What were they feeling at the time they created this work? What was going on in their minds, hearts, world, country, history?

“A work of art which did not begin in emotion is not art,”

said Paul Cézanne. I believe this to be true. I have five siblings and varied array of close friends, I adore them all. So I paint them.

‘Georg,’ Mixi von Bormann, acrylic on canvas

‘Pippa,’ (unfinished) Mixi von Bormann, acrylic on canvas.

‘No Guns,’ Mixi von Bormann, chalk and charcoal on acid paper.

‘Untitled,’ Mixi von Bormann, acrylic on canvas.

My youngest brother, Michael, is very talented, and when he is not jumping out of helicopters and scooping people out of the ocean for the United States Coast Guard, he is drawing them. The brother, who became an orthopedist, Richard, still runs screaming if you put a sketch pad and finger paints in front of him, but his portrait photography is gobsmackingly intense.

‘Madeleine,’ Michael von Bormann, pencil on paper.

‘The Crooner,’ Michael von Bormann, pencil and paper.

As mixerella continues, it will feature art and people, and reflections on how I see them.

“I feel that there is nothing more truly artistic than to love people.” — Vincent van Gogh

8 thoughts on “A Heart for Art

  1. Pingback: Earth Beings: Arthur | mix|arella

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

